Drawing upon existing institutional strengths and ensuring an innovative and multi-sectoral perspective, leadership representing the Government of Saint Lucia and a broad group of civil society actors including members of the conservation community, community groups and non-governmental organisations, and private sector agencies founded the Saint Lucia National Conservation Fund (SLUNCF) in 2015. The World Bank, The Nature Conservancy (TNC), and the Caribbean Biodiversity Fund (CBF) provided technical support for this process.


Developed initially to manage funding flows that will be generated by the CBF, the SLUNCF was designed to accommodate a diverse range of funding flows that will catalyse and support the conservation, restoration, and effective management of Saint Lucia’s biodiversity and natural resources. The SLUNCF’s mandate extends beyond the management of CBF funds, and the SLUNCF will seek to generate additional sustainable funding to support other focal areas including sustainable livelihoods.


Incorporated in 2016, the  SLUNCF is dedicated to the conservation, restoration, and effective management of Saint Lucia’s biodiversity and natural resources. The SLUNCF has 11 Directors, with Non-Government Directors being in the majority. The Board of Directors comprises Founder Member Directors, Government Member Directors, and Non-Government Member Directors:


  • Founder Member Directors which represent the Economic Development Portfolio in the Government of Saint Lucia, the Saint Lucia National Trust, and the St. Lucia Hotel and Tourism Association;


  • Government Member Directors represented by the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, Physical Planning, Natural Resources and Co-operatives,  Ministry Equity, Social Justice, Empowerment, Youth Development, Sports, Culture and Local Government; and


  • Non-Government Member Directors represented by the Saint Lucia Co-operative Credit Union League Ltd., the Soufriere Marine Management Association Inc., the Saint Lucia Bar Association, Caribbean Youth Environment Network Saint Lucia Chapter, and The Nature Conservancy.


The SLUNCF’s Officers consist of the Chairperson, the Vice-Chairperson, the Secretary, the Treasurer, the Chief Executive Officer, and other officers as the Board will deem necessary, from time to time.

Artboard 1.jpg
Board Of Directors
Thomas Nelson pic.jpg

Board Member

Department of Fisheries

Joanne Norville Profile.jpeg

Board Member

 Caribbean Youth Environment Network (CYEN)


Board Member

Saint Lucia National Trust


Kendall Elva

Board Member


Board Member

Saint Lucia Bar Association

Samanthia Justin photo1.png

Samanthia Justin

Board Member

Ministry of Education, Innovation, Gender Relations and Sustainable Development


 Cleopha Nicolas

Board Member

Soufriere Marine Management Association (SMMA)

DSC_8284 copy.jpg


Saint Lucia Hospitality & Tourism Association (SLHTA)



Ministry of Economic Development, Housing, Urban Renewal, Transport & Civil Aviation



Credit Union League

sherry profile pic (2).jpg


The Nature Conservancy (TNC)